Delete your Google Browsing History

Have you heard about Google’s new privacy policy? It allows the search giant to take all the information it has gathered about you (including search history, browsing history and demographics) and assign it to your Gmail and YouTube accounts. It comes into effect Thursday, March 1, 2012.

Prior to March 1, users can log in and delete their web history. After the new policy is in place, however, all your base are belong to Google your information will be assigned to your online accounts in an effort to provide more customized search results and there is no way of reversing it.

According to the Daily Mail,you can limit Google’s access to your recorded personal information and its ability to record new information using these steps:

1) Sign in to your Google account.
2) Click the dropdown menu next to your name and click “Account Settings”.
3) Click on “Services”.
4) Click on “Go to Web History”.
5) Click on “Remove all Web History”. A message will appear saying your “Web History is Paused”.

This ensures that all of your Web History information will remain anonymous. You can click “Resume” at any time in order to allow Google to resume recording your Web History information and to receive personalized advertising and search results using your Google accounts.

But do you really want  Google to know about all of those times you googled “Helen Mirren in a bikini”?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Follow:

1 Comment

  1. Dave Evans
    February 29, 2012 / 8:17 pm

    Thanks Jamie!!!